Main menu:

Call for Papers

Download the Call for Papers as a PDF file. A text version is also available.

International Working Conference on
Requirements Engineering: Foundation for Software Quality

Co-located with CAiSE’07 in Trondheim, Norway
REFSQ website:

Requirements engineering (RE) is as integral to the assurance of software quality now as it was when the first REFSQ took place in 1994. Compared to 1994, our understanding of RE has improved, while newer and better methods and tools are available to practitioners. At the same time, however, new challenges have emerged. These include increased economic pressures on developers and customers and the pace of change caused by new technologies and new application domains. Meanwhile, many old problems stubbornly resist attempts to solve them. We still make poor trade-offs between incompatible requirements; we still struggle to derive appropriate software architectures from requirements; and too many ambitious development projects still end in recriminations instead of useful software. Against this background, REFSQ’07 seeks reports of innovative work in RE that enhances the quality of software and systems, particularly where challenged by new development paradigms or technologies. We encourage researchers and practitioners from the RE, software engineering, information systems, and embedded systems fields to present original work. Contributions from cognate areas such as formal methods, systems engineering, economics and management and social sciences are very welcome for the insights they provide in RE.

Theme: RE and innovation in software engineering

We encourage submissions on any aspect of RE but we particularly welcome submissions that address how RE is affected by or affects innovations such as:

  • Service-oriented computing
  • Model-driven development
  • Software product lines
  • Aspect-oriented software development
  • Adaptive and autonomic systems
  • Situational and domain-specific RE

Case studies, experience reports and industrial problem statements are particularly encouraged.

Working conference format

REFSQ has a long tradition of being a highly structured and interactive forum and this remains as we make the transition to a working conference. What has changed is that attendance of REFSQ is no longer restricted to paper authors, although we will restrict numbers to encourage the active participation of all attendees. The working language is English.


Three types of paper are solicited: full papers (15 pages max, 12 recommended), position papers (6 pages max) and industrial problem statements (6 pages max) – see instructions for authors for details about format and evaluation criteria. Submission is handled electronically through the REFSQ web site.



The REFSQ’07 proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag as a special volume of Lecture Notes in Computer Science.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: extended until January 1st, 2007 (2359 GMT)

Notification of acceptance: February 19th, 2007

REFSQ’07 in Trondheim: June 11th-12th, 2007


Program Co-Chairs

Pete Sawyer
Lancaster University, UK

Barbara Paech
University of Heidelberg, Germany

Patrick Heymans
University of Namur, Belgium

Advisory Board

Klaus Pohl
University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany & LERO, Ireland

Andreas Opdahl
University of Bergen, Norway

Éric Dubois
CRP Henri Tudor, Luxemburg

Programme Committee

The following persons have confirmed their participation to the PC.

Ian Alexander Peri Loucopoulos
Thomas Alspaugh Kalle Lyytinen
Aybuke Aurum Neil Maiden
Franck Barbier Raimundas Matulevičius
Daniel M. Berry Daniel M. Moody
Sjaak Brinkkemper Cornelius Ncube
Pierre-Jean Charrel Bashar Nuseibeh
Alan Davis Andreas L. Opdahl
Éric Dubois Anne Persson
Christof Ebert Klaus Pohl
Anthony Finkelstein Jolita Ralytė
Vincenzo Gervasi Balasubramaniam Ramesh
Carlo Ghezzi Lucia Rapanotti
Martin Glinz Bjorn Regnell
Michael Goedicke Colette Rolland
Tony Gorschek Matti Rossi
Peter Haumer Alessandra Russo
Ann Hickey Camille Salinesi
Frank Houdek Kristian Sandahl
Marina Jirotka Kurt Schneider
Sara Jones Andres Silva
Natalia Juristo Guttorm Sindre
Erik Kamsties Ian Sommerville
John Krogstie Roel Wieringa
Giuseppe Lami Claes Wohlin
Soren Lauesen Didar Zowghi
Michel Lemoine