+++ REFSQ 2013 is over and has been a great success! See you all at REFSQ 2014 +++

Doctoral Symposium

REFSQ 2013 will host a Doctoral Symposium for PhD students whose research area includes elements of Requirements Engineering. The goals of the REFSQ 2013 Doctoral Symposium are:

  • to provide PhD students in the early stages of their research with an opportunity to survey the field and get a feeling for what their colleagues are working on.
  • to provide PhD students at a more advanced stage with an opportunity to present their plans and early results.
  • to provide all participant students with advice and suggestions from a panel of senior researchers.
  • to facilitate interaction among all the participants.

Following the time-honoured tradition of REFSQ, the Symposium will revolve around structured presentations and matching discussions, with ample time devoted to comments from the floor. A number of senior researchers will attend the event. Authors of sufficiently advanced proposals will be invited to prepare a poster for the main conference.


8:30 – 8:40 Welcome, introduction to the programme, distribution of evaluation forms
8:40 – 8:50 Sergio España – Warming up
8:50 – 9:40 Roel Wieringa – Introduction to design science methodology
9:40 – 10:30 Ulrike Abelein – Developer-User Communication in Large-Scale IT Projects
10:30 – 11:00 Coffee break
11:00 – 11:50 Itzel Morales-Ramirez – On Exploiting End-User Feedback in Requirements Engineering
11:50 – 12:40 Marcela Ruiz – A model-driven reengineering framework to support organisational evolution
12:40 – 13:50 Lunch
13:50 – 14:40 Sukanya Khanom – Icon-based Language in the Context of Requirements Engineering
14:40 – 15:30 Richard Ellis-Braithwaite – Analysing the Assumed Benefits of Software Requirements
15:30 – 16:00 Coffee break
16:00 – 16:45 Nazim Madhavji – Why Ph.D. students should not write a thesis
16:45 – 17:45 Discussion
17:45 – 18:00 Closing, distribution of evaluation forms to each participant
18:30 DS-Dinner

Symposium Chairs

Prof. dr. Óscar Pastor, Univ. of Valencia, Spain,
Prof. dr. Roel Wieringa, Univ. of Twente, The Netherlands,

Programme committee 

Xavi Franch, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya – Spain
Peri Loucopoulos, Harokopio Univ. of Athens – Greece
Paolo Giorgini, University of Trent – Italy
Barbara Paech, University of Heidelberg – Germany
Marjo Kauppinen, Aalto University – Finland
Björn Regnell, Lund University – Sweden